poultrygeistTroma Films
2006
NR

“The chicken…the chicken has declared jihad on us all.”

When the American Chicken Bunker, a military themed fast food restaurant, builds its latest chain restaurant on the site of an ancient Native American burial ground, the displaced spirits take revenge on unsuspecting diners and transform them into chicken zombies!  Now, it’s up to a dimwitted counterboy, his collegiate lesbian ex-girlfriend and a burqa-wearing fry cook to put an end to the foul feathered menace once and for all.

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy?  Why do I do this to myself?  I mean, yes, I’m pretty well dedicated to the viewing of bad movies, with a specialty in the horror and sci-fi genres.  But, there are some movies that cause me to pause, stare out of a window and re-evaluate my life choices.  and Poultrygeist…well, I once again have to take pause, here.

And before you start in with the inevitable – yes, I was very much aware of what I was getting into, here.  This was a Troma movie, named Poultrygeist, and it’s a musical.  And I still wanted to watch it.  Just by the name alone, coupled with the Troma label, I knew this was going to be a big stinky slab of cheese.  Only, I was unaware of what level of bad we were talking about, here.  I’m no Troma newbie; far from it.  But I was rather unprepared for what awaited me on this shiny unassuming disc.  Maybe I’m getting old, but while I revel in bad movie watching, Poultrygeist was just a bunch of juvenile gross-out humor taken to the nth degree…and then serenades you in the process.

Poultrygeist is a badly made, offensively steamy pile of crap, and it knows it.   There, I’ve seen it.  Now, let’s just move on with our lives…