jack-o-lanterns-2048x2048-HOkay, this is a bona-fide Halloween classic, right here. Hollowing out pumpkins and carving faces into them, sticking in a candle and leaving them out on the porch or wherever as biodegradable holiday decorations. You can go with the simple smiley face, a toothy grin, something sinister-looking, or even go all-out and get a rather intricate design going. You can find pictures all over the interwebs of those who have taken Jack O’Lantern carving to an art form.

As for me, I don’t think I’ve carved a pumpkin since…High School, maybe? I could never really master the whole carving portion, as my knife always slipped badly enough to really mutate my pumpkin beyond respectability. And I do admit, I’m not a fan of the disembowelling part. Messy, messy, messy. I guess I could never be a serial killer. And I realize they make those fake “carver pumpkins” that are already hollow for the purpose of carving, but…let’s face it, that’s just not the same.

Regardless, I do admire those who have the talent to pull off some fantastic Jack O’Lantern designs. It’s just not Halloween without one or two of these icons around.

::END TRANSMISSION::

