EIGHTBALL CHOLOS - Satan's Whore

EIGHTBALL CHOLOS
Satan’s Whore
Morphine Records
1996

I’ve been told that ‘Satan’s Whore’, Burrito’s second foray under the moniker Eightball Cholos, that he of the food item nickname was rather mellow as compared to his previous efforts. Since this CD is the only one I’ve heard featuring the man, I cower trembling at the thought of hearing him fully torqued off. Yeeesh.

This isn’t so much an extreme metal CD as it is a primal scream therapy session caught on tape, with musical accompaniment by Tracy G., guitarist for Dio and longtime friend of Burrito’s. On here Burrito (there should be more Taco Bell-inspired nicknames) goes off on everything from the Catholic Church (“Exorcize My Soul”), televangelists (“Predators In The Pulpit”), the Promise Keepers rallies (“Movement Of Deceit”), abuse within the churches (“Cry For Love”, “Shattered Faith”), among others. About the only bright spots on this CD are “In My Blackest Hour” and “I Fall Down” where there’s open acknowledgement of the only way to change those woes would be total faith in Jesus Christ. The music’s very extreme, well played, and Burrito’s vocals- sounding like that of Charlton Heston when he discovered that Soylent Green is people- complements the style well. There are some areas of disagreement I have, mostly with the constant ragging on the Catholic church, organized religion and the whole Promise Keeper’s thing (although I should note that I’ve never been to one, I choose to remain neutral on the subject). This explains my kind of low rating for the CD. Other than that ‘Satan’s Whore’ is a solid listen.

