jesusknocksWell, well, well. Here we are. Another Sunday, which means it’s time for yet another in my ongoing week-ending collections of randumb brain droppings and such. I hope you all had a nice Halloween. Mine was as I like it: uneventful. Went to work, had some fun at work with my Cthulhu mask, stopped by my sister and brother-in-law’s place to give my nephews their annual bucket of sugar, then went back to my crypt to do some writing and watching of the Halloween movie. Then it was just sit back and wait for the post-Halloween depression to kick in.

November 1st really is the worst day of the year.

I distinctly remember last year, when I texted something to the effect of the corpse of Halloween was still warm when Wal-Mart began setting up their Christmas stuffs. This year, they didn’t even wait for Halloween to flatline; I stopped by one in Omaha after work Halloween night, only to not only be blindsided by a Christmas Glade video-commercial kiosk, but I also spotted more than one Christmas-y food stuffs on the shelves, complete with festive packaging. My inner Scrooge seems to manifest earlier and earlier every year, as a result. Bah, humbug.

virtual reality“Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn’t go away.” – Philip K. Dick

The \,,/METAL\,,/ community took a few hits this week: First, the founder of the annual Housecore Horror Film Festival and contributer to the Metal Sucks website Corey Mitchell died very shortly after this year’s festivities wrapped up. Then, a so-called “Christian” (don’t get me started) murdered a young metalhead. And then, to top it all off, Wayne Static died. Gads. Been playing Monster for a while because of this. The man had one heck of a beard.

Sometimes, you come across something you have to preface with the phrase “You can’t make this stuff up”. This is one of them.

miss those zombiesSTUFF I’VE WRITTEN: Halloween may be over, but we still have the HALLOWEEN’ING posts from this past week leading up to the big night–I mused on the Monster Cereals, Halloween masks, the soon-to-be-lost-art of trick or treating, and the benifits of just staying in, before wishing everyone a HAPPY HALLOWEEN! I mused a bit on my perpetual feeling of being an outsider, I posted movie reviews of The Woods and Spiders, as well as reviews of albums by Double B, EastWest, Eightball Cholos, and Fatal Blast Whip.

That’s it for this week. Next week, I’m told that a part of my family is holding Thanksgiving a few weeks early, so I may be still working out the after-effects of the inevitable turkey coma. Until then, I leave you with a trailer for an Icelandic film that I can’t wait to watch. Cheers.

::END TRANSMISSION::

