Movie Review: SILVER BULLETParamount Pictures
1985
R

“I’m too old to be playin’ Hardy Boys meets Reverend Werewolf!”

Set in the mid-70s, the townsfolk of Tarker’s Mills are being picked off by a mysterious beast. Apparently, this only happens around the full moon. And when one of the friends of Marty’s is killed one night, he’s taken it upon himself to find out what’s ripping the not-so-random victims to shreds. Only, 13-year-old Marty has been confined to a wheelchair since birth. And the only people who believe him are his older sister (who thinks he’s, and I quote, “a bugger”) and his drunk-half-the-time uncle. And the werewolf knows Marty knows…and he’s in the mood for a little meal on wheels, if you catch my not-so-subtle pun there…

Surprised, I am. I gotta say, I wasn’t really expecting much of a movie. First off, it’s a werewolf movie, and that’s not exactly a genre I can get into. I’m more of a Vampire / Zombie fiend. Secondly, it had Cory Haim. Cory friggin’ Haim. Really, about the only saving grace to get me to actually watch this movie was Gary Busey. Okay, that and it was just lying around in the basement of my parent’s house, and one time visiting I noticed it just lying about, so I snatched it up and decided to finally watch it.

Again, I say- surprised I am. This was actually a pretty good werewolf flick. Sure, I called out who the werewolf was about ten minutes into the film, but the ride getting up to it was fun. Points for getting to the point almost right off the bat. Lotsa fun stuff here: The kills? Bloody. The acting? Cheesy but fun. The crazed posse of drunken rednecks getting collectively eviscerated in a wooded park that’s sporting more fog than The Fog? Gruesome fun. That fever dream where the entire congregation turns into werewolves? Priceless. The Reverend cornering sit n’ spin in the abandoned bridge? Creepy as hell. Even the method behind the werewolf madness is a different twist. The transformation scene is kind of a low-rent version of the one in American Werewolf In London, but still effective. The entire movie plays like a classic John Carpenter romp; Gary Busey is memorable as the uncle to a preteen and then-unknown Cory Haim’s wheelchair-bound Marty. The townsfolk are all one-note werewolf fodder, which at times adds a bit of unintentional comedy to the mix. An unexpectedly enjoyable low-budget werewolf flick, not bad…

