EVROKLIDON - The Flame Of Sodom
EVROKLIDON
The Flame Of Sodom
Bombworks Records
2005

Yet another extreme metal band from the Ukraine that wants to rip your face off with its metal onslaught. Not that I’m complaining, mind you. I’m just wondering, why all the aggression? Does it have anything to do with the country of origin? Knowing next to nothing about the Ukraine, I took a quick trip to Wikipedia (if it’s there, the information must be reliable, right?), and here’s what it said:

Ukraine (Ukrainian: Óêðà¿íà, Ukrayina, /ukra’jina/) is a country in Eastern Europe. It borders Russia to the north-east, Belarus to the north, Poland, Slovakia and Hungary to the west, Romania and Moldova to the south-west, and the Black Sea and Sea of Azov to the south.

…okay, that might explain why. Again, I’m not complaining. On the contrary, I find myself prepared to lavish praise on Evroklidon for this fine black metal blitzkrieg, even if they had to wait a bit for a proper release.

From what I’ve gleaned on the two-man outfit’s history, The Flame Of Sodom was originally released independently in either 2003 or 2004 (depending on which source you go to), but didn’t make it to the States until they were picked up by Bombworks Records, who then re-released it through the label. For which, I rejoice.

First thing I noticed was that the CD held only six tracks. For twelve bucks. That’s like $2 per track. Being the thrifty metal head that I am, I did some more checking around this wonderful web of ours, and found out that, while only six songs, the entire CD clocks in at a few seconds under 43 minutes. So, while it’s $2 per song, it’s also like getting two songs crammed into one convenient track. Or something. Moving on…

The music. Oh, the music. Opening with very atmospheric whistling wind, bell tolls, and Russian vocals overlaid with a very dark and doomy guitar, the disc keeps this pace into the second track, “Devilish Beast In The Eternal Fire”. The entire album is a rollercoaster ride (in the black of night, of course), with furious blastbeats and grinding guitars, to doomy slower paces, with clean and shriek vocals, walls of noise and haunting atmospherics.

Lyrically, Evroklidon is as brutally Christian as their music. Take the lyrics to the final track, “Spiritual Battle”:

The weak Devil fell, because there is no spire
Which is able to pierce my armour
Righteousness is my armour
Because I took Christ
The Army of evil will not defeat me
Put on the armour
Be ready to rebel against the devilish machinations
Cleave shadow of darkness
Go bravely to struggle against underheavenly evil
I cleft rulers of darkness by God’s Word
Because this is my spiritual sword
I don’t fear red-hot arrows of Satan
The Shield of faith was able to keep me
Put on the armour
Be ready to rebel against the devilish machinations
Cleave shadow of darkness
Go bravely to struggle against underheavenly evil
I dressed in full-possession of God
And my enemy has lost battle to me
Helmet of salvation is on me, I am girded by truth
I have stood firm against evil in evil day

Bottom line: The Flame Of Sodom will satisfy the most ravenous black metal fiend. If you find yourself cranking the likes of Darkthrone, Burzum and Horde, check Evroklidon. You owe it to yourself…

