Chick_fil_A_LogoFor years, now, I’ve been hearing about how Chick-Fil-A was the greatest chicken-based fast food restaurant that has graced the regional South-East area of America. This was usually by various internet Christians I knew who felt the need to point out that the chain was started and owned by professing Christians every time they mentioned going to Chick-Fil-A, which was several times during the week. Except for Sundays, of course. They’re like the hobbyists at church who supply their habit at Hobby Lobby, only substituting food as their source for that warm, fuzzy glow with just a hint of righteousness. But, I digress.

I do wish to point out that, as with everything I decide to try out, I did not try Chick-Fil-A because I am a professing Christian and I thought it was my duty as said Christian to eat there exclusively. Nor am I trying to make some kind of empty socio-political statement by choosing to eat there. Since I give absolutely no craps about hyper-politics like that, I don’t care if I’m perceived as “making a bold stand”/”being an insensitive hate-monger” because I chose to eat at a certain place. Besides, I just wanted to finally find out what all the hype was all about, and if it was warranted as far as the food itself goes, and now I had an opportunity to try it out without making a road trip to do so.

Now that we have that needless disclaimer out of the way, let’s move on to my very first Chick-Fil-A experience, shall we?

WHAT I GOT: The Chick-Fil-A deluxe chicken sandwich, with medium waffle fries and a medium drink (the “Number 2 Combo”, if you will).

The staff who took my order were rather friendly, in that “eager to please” kind of way. Having worked in fast food quite a bit, I know the difference between those who were faking it because it was expected of them, and when they’re giving an actual effort (as I was usually the one who was faking it, naturally), and this young lady who took my order, you could tell, was making the effort. Kudos to this possibly local teen. Didn’t ask. It would have been creepy and stuff.

I got my order to go. Driving in, I don’t know if it was due to the Arctic freeze that literally blew into Nebraska overnight, giving the Midwest Plains area that yearly tundra feel (thanks, Arctic Vortex), but the dive-thru had a lineup that stretched around the parking lot. And, I apparently underestimated the popularity of that establishment. Seems there were a lot of Omaha people chomping at the bit to get a Chick-Fil-A in Omaha proper, and not have to travel all the way to Bellevue to get some. But, despite the volume of people dining and waiting to place their drive-thru order, I was helped rather promptly, and the wait for the order took only a couple of minutes. I was impressed.

The WAFFLE FRIES
I’ve heard it said that the thing that really sets Chick-Fil-A apart from the other establishments were their Waffle Fries. People sing the praises of their waffle fries. I don’t know if anyone has proclaimed that they would sell their soul to the devil for some Chick-Fil-A waffle fries in a fit of irony, but that’s besides the point. I got some Waffle Fries to round out the entire experience. The medium sized container was a pretty good size, and I got a goodly amount in there. The fries themselves were…adequate. Not unlike the waffle fries you would buy at various other establishments. Better quality than what you would probably get at a High School cafeteria (it’s been quite a while since I’ve eaten at one of those, so I’m just assuming here), but they didn’t really impress me too much beyond a “not too bad” after I finished them off.

The DELUXE CHICKEN SANDWICH
Okay, so right off the bat, it comes in a rather big cardboard clamshell box, which is my favorite way to get fast food sandwiches. One point for that. The sandwich itself was rather good. My first impression was, “Well, it’s definitely not McDonald’s or Burger King”, which was good. Maybe even a bit better than the chicken sandwich from Wendy’s, truth be told. They do use real chicken, that is very evident, and the taste was somewhat unique, reminding me of a chicken sandwich like that from a certain bar and grill I frequent every week. It was good, it was filling, and there was even a bit of a pang of regret when I finished it, but overall right satisfying. Very well made sandwich, very good quality there.

Okay, so the questions remain: Did I enjoy my visit to Chick-Fil-A? Yes, I would say I did. Mind you, I got mine to go, as I mentioned before, and didn’t really do the sit-down eating thing (I get off work at 7pm, and have an hour drive back home, didn’t want to get back too late). But it was a pleasant experience. And a little note to any atheists and agnostic types, there was not blatant proselytizing going on. I’m pretty sure for some, that wasn’t a joke I just made. But anyway; would I go back again? Yes, I wouldn’t mind going back. Might try one of the grilled chicken sandwiches at a later time. Will I want to eat there all the freaking time, like some people profess they do? Er, no. There are at least three other chicken-based fast food places to chose from in Omaha, and sorry to say that this trip–while good enough–hasn’t made me turn from my heathen Popeye’s ways.

Sorry, had to get at least one more dig at that. I’m entitled, being part of the brethren and all. So, bottom line: not bad, worth checking out, but not really life-changingly good.

::END TRANSMISSION::

