In A Dark Side Of The Mood...One Thursday night, a few years ago, while waiting for the rest of the Coven of Exalted Geeks to show up at Sean O’Casey’s, I had some time to kill, as I was once again let off early due to lack of being needed for my second shift. So, after an hour or so of writing in my unplugged notebook, and working on my second pitcher of root beer, I decided to stick in three dollars into the jukebox and play the classic Pink Floyd album Dark Side Of The Moon in its entirety.

Those of you who have known me for a while aren’t surprised at this, but for those of you who are choking on the concept at this moment: yes, I do enjoy other forms of music besides METAL. Usually I refer to it as “not-METAL”, but there is a good chunk of not-METAL in my album vault. And now that I’ve blown your fragile mind there…

Dark Side Of The Moon. This is an album I haven’t listened to in a number of years. One of those classics I got into kind of late in the game, but one I can listen to front-to-back more than once. A permanent fixture in my collection, along with a few others in the Pink Floyd catalog. And when the opening heartbeat of “Speak To Me” faded in, melding into “Breathe”, it was like slipping into an old well-worn and loved pair of jeans. And through the den of the bar patrons surrounding me, I took in the entire album, thoroughly enjoying myself.

I bought my first copy of Dark Side Of The Moon in the late summer of 1992. I’d graduated High School a couple of months prior, and my future was still in a bit of a flux. Outside of going to college in January, I really had no immediate future plans, besides try to find work and exist. Mind you, I was going through what I like to call my “mystical” period. Exploring my spiritual side, reading a lot, and of course discovering the wackiness that was Jim Morrison. Started making my own bell bottoms, wearing multi-colored head scarfs, long-sleeved shirts of various colors and designs, smoking clove cigarettes, sporting sandals…really embracing an aspect of my “freak” side that I now look back on with equal parts nostalgia and disdain. Anyhoo…

At first listen, I wasn’t too impressed with the album. Seemed a bit low-key and mellow for my budding tastes. Having previously purchased both The Wall and A Collection Of Great Dance Songs, and those taking some time to grow on me, I gave Dark Side Of The Moon a chance. And over time, yes, it did grow on me. I have an appreciation for the multiple layers that seems at first glance so simple. And pulled off at a time when there was no digital studio programs, it was all done by hand, every sound and nuance captured on tape and painstakingly spliced together. And with the topic of madness being an interest, the overall concept appeals to me, especially after years of reading and studying the band and their methods to their madness. For me and countless others, this thing still holds up after all this time. Great thing to slap into the player, turn down the lights, and get lost to…

Might have to pop this one in the media player again, now that I’m thinking about it…cheers…

::END TRANSMISSION::

