IMPENDING DOOM - Nailed. Dead. Risen.
IMPENDING DOOM
Nailed. Dead. Risen.
Facedown Records
2007

Death metal, pure and simple. Okay, okay, sure there are some I’ve read that try to lump this in with the whole “deathcore” style, and they might have a bit of a point with the fact that there are breakdowns hither and yon (and the fact that it was released on Facedown Records). But, let’s take them genre-Nazi blinders off and face the facts, my wanna-be poser brethren (and siseren): This is DEATH METAL. This is gut-churning, guitars down tuned to Zb riffing, blast beat-your-face-off drumming, vocalist gonna vomit up something from deep in his bowels kinda brutality that, thankfully, seems to be getting a resurgence as of late. The songs sometimes seem a bit too simplistic in their execution, but I cannot complain much because I haven’t had a good solid dose of this kind of death metal in a long, looooooooong time. Add to this the good production, an album cover that is probably the coolest I’ve seen in quite some time, and lyrics that are straight-forward about their faith in Christ Jesus, and the end result is a big, stupid grin on my face and a pleasant throbbing in my head that I haven’t experienced since discovering Mortification’s Scrolls Of The Megilloth back in the day. Good start, can’t wait to hear more stuff from this band. Recommended.

