YEAR OF METAL titleiron maiden logoOkay, so this may seem like too obvious of a choice, especially considering the relative obscurity of the first band I chose for the kick-off of this year-long series I’ve decided to do. But, really, does the fact that Iron Maiden is the arguably the biggest and most influential of the bands that emerged within the NWOBHM era disqualify them from being included? I’m not a Metal Hipster, really. I swear. Anyway, I happen to dig me some Iron Maiden, and though I do prefer the Bruce Dickenson-led version of the band (my first Iron Maiden album was Somewhere In Time, after all), at least I’m culling two-thirds of the three choice picks from the first two releases that feature Paul Di’Anno handling the vocals. Crank them up and enjoy.

Phantom Of The Opera

Wrathchild

The Number Of The Beast

::END TRANSMISSION::

