lee mcderment - a match light in the dark
LEE McDERMENT
A Matchlight In The Dark
Independent
2008

I used to have a buddy in college that was really into worship music. For him, it was like paraphrasing an amusing quote from the movie The Blues Brothers: “I like both kinds of music- praise and worship!” He had probably every single Maranatha! label praise and worship album, in cassette and CD format, that was put out at that point all those years ago. Me, I tried to get into all of that. The idea of singing and shouting praises to the King of Kings always gets me in a good mood, but I always found those collections of his to be…generic. Lacking a bit in the depth and quality of the music. For me, it takes a certain quality to get me to listen to prerecorded praise and worship music. Personal tastes, and all that…

A Matchlight In The Dark, the debut release from Lee McDerment, came out of left field in my perusing of independent goodness on CD Baby. McDerment, the worship leader of the New Spring Church in South Carolina, seems to be a very gifted and talented guitar player, singer and songwriter. The music on A Matchlight In The Dark is very well-written, with some very energetic, well-played, and dare I say rockin’ music of the modern rock variety. The lyrics are very worshipful and well-written, sung in easy-to-understand clean vocals throughout. This CD will appeal to anyone into Skillet, 3 Doors Down, and the heavier side to Third Day. Very nicely done…

