white heart - white heart

WHITE HEART
White Heart
Home Sweet Home Records
1982

White Heart was another one of those Christian rock bands from the 1980s through the 1990s that I’ve considered to be within the Petra-Lite category. Granted, when I heard my first White Heart album–Tales Of Wonder, which is still one I throw on once in a while–they didn’t strike me as just another formulaic “Christian rock band”, as they actually had some decent songwriting and and style that reminded me strongly of 80s-era Yes. And since they went on indefinite hiatus back in 1997, I thought now would be a good time to fill in the blanks, and listen to the entire White Heart catalog, for no other reason than I can. Not that I’m going to completely enjoy it, mind you.

White Heart’s eponymous debut album came out in 1982 on the Home Sweet Home Records label. The founding members were all alumni of the Bill Gaither Band, with their lead vocalist being none other than future CCM artist Steve Green, along with the brothers David and Dann Huff, who would go on to found the rock band Giant. An interesting pedigree for an early start, here.

As an album, the music strikes me as some decently produced middle-of-the-road AM radio rock that was the style back in the early 1980s. And by that, I mean a lot of this sounds like a Hall & Oats record. Good Hall & Oats. There are moments where they rock out, but for the most part it’s keyboard-soaked pop rock that’s a bit edgier than your standard CCM Radio fare. Although, there are the softer radio hits here, as well.

Overall, this debut was a decent recording, pretty well produced and a little more driven than what I was expecting for something that was released in the early 1980s. And from the cover photo art. Look at ’em. Darling. Anyway, worth checking out for some nostalgia value.

