Mushroom-cloudIf anyone remembers, back in 2012 there was an Apocalypse that was a no-show, due to the Mayans dropping the ball or some sort. Back then, on the Book of Faces, one of my FaceBook Souls–Klank–posed the question of, what would your Soundtrack to the End of the World be? And I made up my own list and posted it on my previous blog. Now, as I’m slowly getting all of the articles up and going here, I present to you my go-to playlist for the End of the World!

UNCLE NECRO’S TOP TEN APOCALYPSE SOUNDTRACK
(In No Particular Order)


– KLANK – “Downside”
…funny how this is the first song that popped in my head as I was putting this thing together, as it was the Klankster himself that asked the question that got me to think of this list…seems fitting…


– METALLICA – “Blackened”
…one of the first songs I heard to deal with apocalyptic themes and the end of the earth, off of the first Metallica album I ever owned…a classic, really…


– R. E. M. – “It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
…this song is obligatory, if by name only if not subject matters contained within said song…Leonard Bernstein…


– MEGADETH – “Into The Lungs Of Hell / Set The World Afire”
…what can I say, Armageddon and Megadeth just goes together like peanut butter and jelly…


– FOGHAT – “Slow Ride”
…for no other reason than this just seems to fit, watching the world go up in smoke while sitting in your lawn chairs on the roof of some building, this cranking out…yeah, that’s how I envision things going…


– MICHAEL ANDREWS Feat. GARY JULES – “Mad World”
…a bit of something different; of course, I first heard this version of the Tears For Fears song on the movie Donnie Darko, and became smitten with it immediately; I can imagine this playing in the background as I watch the buildings crash down around me, as I take the hand of whoever is standing with me at the time…


– TESTAMENT – “Greenhouse Effect”
…who says metalheads don’t care about the environment? We’re just not as wishy-washy about things…


– DEF LEPPARD – “Armageddon It”
…I’m pretty sure this song has nothing really to do with Armageddon, but the title screams “Please please include me!” It was the 80s, and all…


– MOTLEY CRUE – “Shout At The Devil”
..the original album version, not that stupid “97 Remix” version…double-fisted metal horns for the end of the world, baby…


– WEIRD AL YANKOVIC – “Christmas At Ground Zero”
…’tis the season…and this close to the apex of the Holidays, this seemed a perfect end to…well, The End…cheers…

::END TRANSMISSION::

