project 86 - project 86
PROJECT 86
Project 86
BEC Recordings
1998

One thing I can’t stand whatsoever is when bands whine moan and complain about them not being the style they’ve pigeonholed themselves into. In this case, they’ve been very vocal about Project 86 not being “rapcore”. Whatever. Just a little hint guys- if you don’t want to be known as a “rapcore” band, don’t play the style. It’s that simple. How’s about “nu metal”?

I could go on, but I’m not. Bottom line is thus- the self-titled debut from Project 86 is, to say the very least, hard, heavy and probably better played than most of the nu metal glut that’s been the style du jour as of late. As far as I know, they’ve been around much longer, so one can hardly slag them as bandwagon hoppers. Lyrically speaking, I find them to be intelligently written, of the introspective, almost existential from a Christian perspective. I especially like the section on “When Darkness Reigns” that goes: “You’d have me adopt that suicide / You’d have me succumb without reply / But you forgot the thousand deaths I’ve died / You’d have me continue this pace / You’d have me join your race / But that grave will be nothing but an empty space / Arise from the dead, O sleeper, prepare for the battle cry / Because this is the hour when truth divides…”

Granted, I do listen to this disc once in a while for a quick heavy fix. But, when all is said and done, I’m not a huge fan of the style, though I confess that ‘Project 86’ is the better pick. Given the quality of the recording and the intensity this band obviously gives their material, it’s a wonder why they haven’t hit as big as P.O.D. yet.

