head of the familyFull Moon Entertainment
1996
R

Something’s twisted in Nob Hollow. In the midst of a torrid affair with a biker’s wife, Lance discovers that the tiny town’s weirdest residents, the Stackpoole family, have been doing some hideous human experiments in the bowels of their basement. Lance blackmails Myron Stackpoole and his psychically controlled siblings into murdering Loretta’s husband, but Lance soon finds that he’s in way over his head. Join Myron and his creepy clan in their dysfunctional, disfigured den of demented decadence for an abnormally good time!

It’s to the point where, when I see the opening Full Moon logo flash on the screen before a movie, my body automatically reacts in a Pavlovian manner: my body tenses up, my eyes go wide, and I begin to mutter “No…no…NOOOO!” Because I know, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that I’m about to be subjected to between 80 and 90 minutes of cinematic shlock that will attempt to remove my brain and fill my head with stupid.

Head Of The Family continues on in that fine Charles Band tradition of sub-par B-movie horror and sci-fi. Originally released in 1996, and included on that 20 movie pack I find myself suffering through, this movie is, surprisingly enough, not the worst one in the bunch. That isn’t to say Head Of The Family is a good movie; it’s more of a tolerable movie, in that it really doesn’t pretend to be more than the low-budget B-movie it is. And admittedly I did chuckle a few times at the utter absurdity going on. This is, at best, an over-the-top cheesefest that is best enjoyed by first removing your brain and leaving it at the door as you come in. The acting is hammy and over-the-top, the story is rather absurd, and the whole thing feels like an effort to pay some kind of homage to the early horror works of Peter Jackson and Frank Henenlotter, but falling a bit short.

For what it is, Head Of The Family is what it is: mindlessly weird, absurdly freaky, and somewhat forgettable. Good for a one-time watch if you’re in the mood for something quick and different.

