thy pain - more than suffering
THY PAIN
More Than Suffering
Clenched Fist
2001

I’ve heard of this album. I’ve heard through sources that this was a way intense metalcore / black metal hybrid that was supposed to induce some sort of aneurysm to the listener after putting the CD in the player. Well, when I received this, I put it in, hit play, and by the time the first song, “Far From Darkness” ended, the left side of my body was numb. What we got here is 21 minutes of intense extreme METAL, black / thrash with a touch of groove, something that’s immensely satisfying from start to stop.

The lyrics held within, to dig a little deeper, speak volumes of someone with a very painful past, trying to walk with God’s love and forgiveness day by day. Something that has been touched on before, but not really as deeply explored as on this CD. The topic of abusive behavior being passed down through generations is dealt with here, with the power God has lifted up as the only way to break the cycle. Take the words to “Wounded Heart”-

“Wounded heart / The childhood scars / Make me another soul / One not hurting / Kill this past / The future holds more / More than pain / More than suffering.”

Check also “Far From Darkness”, “United In Blood”, and “Decedents Of Cruelty”. “The Repulsive Cries Of Temptation” deftly deals with the hold our past may still have on us, even though we’re transformed as Christians. I also love the way the band describes us as “body bags for souls” on the song “Becoming A Ghost”. Wonderful metaphoric imagery.

All I have to ask is, where has this band been all my Christian life? This is a massively HUGE extreme metal delicacy. My only beef is, why only 21 minutes? More! We demand more! Don’t tease us. Otherwise, GET THIS NOW!

