Renascent - 2005 - Through Darkness

RENASCENT
Through Darkness
Metal Union
2005

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again many more times until I’m either dead or unable to speak due to some sort of severe head trauma: Really good melodic Death Metal still very much exists, you just have to import it to the Midwest United States to get your fix. I’m guessing in that way, I’m much like my beer enthusiast friends, in that the domestic brand of \,,/METAL\,,/ will do in a pinch, but really pales when compared to the stuff they produce outside the boarders of this country I dwell in.

Thank goodness for the modern internets. Otherwise, I would have completely missed out on this here release from Finnish melodic death band Renascent. Entitled Through Darkness, it was released back in 2005, a time where my \,,/METAL\,,/ buying habits were limited to how much the imported physical copy was, how long it was going to take to ship, and how much my budget dictated I could actually spend on it. Back then, there wasn’t a lot of being able to do that. Now, though, as this album was one of the downloads available on one of the (totally legal) download sites I get my fix at, I was able to discover this little gem that I happened to miss out on back in the day.

And oh, what a gem this is. Chock full of the melodic death metal goodness that I was craving. The music reminds me much of the classic era of In Flames, with some very tight riffs and well-constructed music structures, I’m kicking myself for having missed out on this back when it was initially released. I do admit that the songs tend to blur together a bit, but that’s a very minor issue; this album fills me with that tingly sensation that only really good \,,/METAL\,,/ goodness can do. I recommend checking this one out as soon as you can.

