HALLOWEEN'ING 2015

07-transylvania6-5000

My formative years growing up happened to be the last part of the 1970s and the 1980s, which for me meant that my Saturday morning cartoon rituals involved a steady diet of Looney Toons and Merrie Melodies cartoon shorts that were played in a half-hour block, featuring Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig and the rest of the usual cast of wacky characters. There are plenty of misadventures with scary monsters, but my very favorite short involves Bugs Bunny and a vampire going by the name Count Bloodcount. Or Blood Count. I’ve found it spelled both ways. Anyway…

Bugs Bunny is traveling underground, heading for Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, but winds up in Pittsburghe, Transylvania (he should have taken that left at Albuquerque). Looking for a phone so he could contact his travel agency, Bugs happens upon an old castle, and encounters Count Blood Count (or Bloodcount), who tries to get him to rest up in one of the guest bedrooms. Of course, Bugs can’t sleep, so he reads from a book of Magic Words and Phrases just as the Count is about to strike, which leads into one of the truly hilarious bits ever animated.

I have included the short here, because everyone should watch this at least once. I still find myself singing the whole “Hocus-cadabra” while walking outside on a sunny day. Or dark evening. Or whenever.

::END TRANSMISSION::

