HALLOWEEN'ING 2015

halloween whopper Back in September of 2014, Burger Kings in Japan began selling a black cheeseburger that consisted of black cheese, black buns, and black sauce and OMG I WANT ONE I WANT ONE I WANT ONE! These were the most \,,/METAL\,,/ fast food concoctions I had ever laid my eyes on. Unfortunately, short of visiting Japan, or finding a way to have one FedEx’ed to me from Japan without having the thing be a half-rotted mess by the time it got to Nebraska (which, really, would have made it more \,,/METAL\,,/ if you thought about it), I wasn’t going to be partaking in one any time soon. That is, until this year.

You should know by now that Burger King chains here in America have begun a special seasonal Halloween Whopper, that is based on those Black Cheeseburgers from across the Pacific: A modified Whopper with black buns and black A1 steak sauce. The cheese used here is the standard type, not the black kind used in the Japanese ones. Which, I have to say, I’m kind of disappointed in not getting. I know, mixed reviews and most finding it disgusting (probably due to the use of squid ink to achieve that black color…again, \,,/METAL\,,/), but that’s all part of the presentation.

So, how do they taste? Well, being one to try and investigate something for myself, I did buy one and, after consuming this seasonal fast food concoction, I can say that it tastes…exactly like a Whopper. It was kind of underwhelming, actually. I don’t know what I was really expecting, taste-wise, but if you’re worried that the look of it means that it will taste disgusting, worry not. It’s all visual. Otherwise, the mummy wrapping gives things a nice Halloween flair.

In short…yeah, I’d have another one if I was in the mood. Kind of a bummer that the cheese wasn’t black, though.

::END TRANSMISSION::

