HALLOWEEN'ING 2015

quantum leap the boogieman Quantum Leap was one of those shows I have rather fond memories of from my youth. I remember first discovering this show back in the fall of 1989, my mother being a fan of it at the time; a prime-time sci-fi drama about a guy who “leaps” into the bodies of various people in different points of time to make things right. I found it to be brilliant. I was also 15 at the time; I thought the mullet hair-style was brilliant. The point I’m trying to make here is that, no, Quantum Leap didn’t necessarily age well, but it’s still an enjoyable piece of sci-fi escapism I like to revisit once in a while. But I digress.

One of my favorite episodes that I remember watching on its first broadcast run was the Halloween episode “The Boogieman”. In this episode, our protagonist–Sam–leaps into horror novelist Joshua Ray, described in the episode as a kind of second-rate H. P. Lovecraft. Sounds like someone I’d want to check out. Anyway, there be weird things a’brewin’ in the House of Ray, as the people associated with him begin dying. And Sam’s future guide, Al, can’t seem to give him the information in time to save them in time. As a matter of fact, Al seems to be acting kind of odd, even for Al.

For a Halloween episode, “The Boogieman” is a nice neo-Gothic style spine-tingling mystery that hits a good many of the tropes associated with these kind of stories, especially the “It was all a dream…OR WAS IT?!?” kind of resolution. Oh, um…spoilers, by the way. And the throwaway twist at the very end is still chuckle-worthy, methinks. Overall, “The Boogieman” would make a great addition to any kind of Halloween-themed marathon for the telly.

WATCH ON HULU

::END TRANSMISSION::

