stop sinningSin, sin, sin, sin.  We act as if we are always pure, and sin itself is an outside agent that will contaminate ourselves if we let it in, or expose ourselves to it.  If we would just avoid sin, we’d be holy and acceptable to God.

What a twisted way to think.  We ourselves are full of sin, not because of some exposure to it.  I am sinful, indeed full of sin, because I was full of sin from the beginning.  The Scriptures state with no uncertain terms that we were born into sin, and reside with our fallen selves until that appointed time when we all stand before God.

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. – Romans 3:23

Nothing in the Scriptures say we are innocent angels, who were victims of contamination.  No, we are guilty of sin from day one.  I’ve heard all the pious state, “I avoid sin.” Tell me how you do that, when sin and death are ingrained within our very DNA?

We cannot make ourselves “righteous” by “avoiding sin”, because we cannot avoid ourselves.

Therefore, no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin. – Romans 3:20

I can try to – and I have tried to – make myself righteous, even after making Jesus my Lord and Saviour, by trying to “avoid sin”.  This legalistic yoke was too easy to slip on, but very heavy and constrictive, and harder to get off than it looked.  I forgot that, just as my redemption wasn’t paid for by anything I did but what Jesus did on the cross, my righteousness and sanctification is from God and God alone, through Christ Jesus and His Holy Spirit.

Now when a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation.  However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness. – Romans 4:4-5

It is the Holy Spirit that imparts inside us the desire to seek after Him, to be holy and not sin. But the trick is to not forget that we have to allow the Holy Spirit to continue the sanctification process within us. Our righteousness is like filthy rags compared to the righteousness that is freely given to us by Jesus Christ. It’s a lesson I have to keep learning every day.

Just “stop sinning”? Good luck with that. Cheers, my wonderful freaks.

::END TRANSMISSION::

