captain-america-movieParamount Pictures / Marvel Entertainment
2011
PG-13

In Marvel’s superhero slugfest, Steve Rogers volunteers for a secret experiment during WWII after bing deemed unfit for duty.  Transformed into super soldier Captain America, he takes on his Nazi-created counterpart, Red Skull, and the evil Hydra.

You’re probably wondering why it’s taken me this long to get around to reviewing the very first Captain America movie done for the Marvel Cinematic Universe, seeing as how I’ve already done the review for its sequel, The Winter Soldier. Well, the answer is, it took me a while to talk myself into watching this one back in the day, and when I did, I kind of spaced it off, until the sequel was out and found myself doing that one and forgetting totally that I never wrote a review for this one, and…gads, my run-on sentences are getting worse. I may have to cut down on the coffee. Yeah, like that’s going to happen. Anyway, on with the review, here.

It should come as no surprise that I’ve yet to actually read a Captain America comic book, yet I know the back story (more or less) and history of one of the most iconic comic book characters to ever be created. Captain America is an American icon, both as a character and in general. But, it wasn’t a comic book I got into when I was collecting. Which is why it took me until this movie was released on DVD for me to get around to watching it. Same thing happened with Thor. Which is another movie I need to get to reviewing. But anyway…

The story of Captain America (nee: The First Avenger) shows the origin of the good Captain’s beginnings as a sickly, scrawny yet scrappy Steve Rogers who wants nothing more than to join the fighting in Europe during World War 2. Only, every single time he tries to enlist, he’s listed as an F-4 and rejected. This doesn’t stop him from trying over and over and over again, until he’s spotted by a scientist that’s trying to help the war effort in America by developing a Super Soldier serum, and decides that Rogers would be the perfect candidate. But, as soon as Rogers gets his shiny new muscles and abilities, the U. S. Army decides that he would be best utilized as a USO entertainer. Because…reasons, I guess. Of course, it’s just a matter of time before Captain America decides “screw that noise”, and single-handedly invades a Nazi stronghold and frees several units and destroys the bunker. Now he’s taking on the Red Skull, a high-ranking Nazi agent that’s so insane with his plans, even Hitler wants him to tone down a bit. Wackiness ensues.

All things considered, when I got around to watching Captain America, I have to say I was surprised at how entertained I was watching the movie. It managed to take my “meh” attitude with the character, and made me want more after the movie ended. That’s how this movie is: from my basic understanding of the history of the character, I believe this movie has struck the balance between pleasing long time fans and casual viewers alike. The story was tight and engaging, the actors worked very, very well with the material (there’s just nothing Tommy Lee Jones can’t do, methinks), and the action scenes were intense. Yeah, it’s a popcorn flick, but it’s a very entertaining popcorn flick, and one of the earliest indications that maybe, just maybe, Marvel knows what it’s doing with its movie properties finally.

Anyway, Captain America is worthy of multiple viewings. It’s a keeper, in my not-so-humble opinion.

