grave declaration - when dying souls scream praise

GRAVE DECLARATION
When Dying Souls Scream Praise
Bombworks Records
2013

This fist full-length release from Norwegian symphonic black metal outfit Grave Declaration is…well, I won’t mince words, here: When Dying Souls Scream Praise is pants-wettingly awesome. And I don’t think I’m exaggerating one bit when I write that, either. I know, I can tend to be overly enthusiastic when it comes to \,,/METAL\,,/, but trust me, here it is warranted.

This first and so far only full-length release (not counting the EP from a few years prior) by Norwegians Grave Declaration is a greatly refreshing Arctic blast of thick and meaty extreme metal bombast that skirts the lines between symphonic black metal, folk metal and death metal, throwing in some experimental elements in there to keep things from going stale too soon. The production is fantastic, giving a fullness to the quality. The music is well-crafted, and that shows with the flow of the entire album. If this isn’t the perfect metal album, When Dying Souls Scream Praise comes bloody close. Do yourself a favor, and obtain this album post-haste, pop it in the player, and get all tingly and moist with this two-fisted exorcise in awesomeness.

