lost boys the thirst movie posterWarner Bros.
2010
R

As the lost boys and girls of San Cazador prepare to party under the Blood Moon, an alpha vampire conspires to turn those unsuspecting ravers into an army of undead. The only thing that stands between him and the annihilation of the entire human race is the infamous vampire fighting Frog Brothers. Armed with double-barrel holy water balloon launchers, and multi-arrow crossbows, Edgar and Alan Frog join forces to kick some blood-sucker butt in this latest high-energy action-packed adventure in the Lost Boys franchise.

After the unnecessary suck-fest (no pun intended) that was Lost Boys: The Tribe, when I heard there was anothe3r sequel to the 1986 post-modern vampire classic The Lost Boys, it took me back a bit.  I wasn’t the only horror fiend that bemoaned another direct to video sequel of one of the more beloved movies from that era.  On the other hand, due to my masochistic tendencies concerning horror movies, it was also inevitable that I was going to rent this the week it was released.  And as usual, I wasn’t disappointed.

My expectations were rather low, understandably.  I knew from the basic premise gleaned from the internet that The Thirst wasn’t just a watered-down rehash of the original movie like The Tribe was.  Still, pressing play I braced myself for mediocrity.

And really?  Lost Boys The Thirst was pretty decent.  Much better than The Tribe, anyway.  Mind you, that isn’t saying much.  What I will say is this: the movie is cheesy, there are more than a few groan-inducing moments, the characters seem more self-parody than the tongue in cheek of the original, and there are enough plot holes swiss cheesing the story than I cared to keep track of.  But, as any good horror movie fan knows, this is just par for the course.

For the majority of the time, I was greatly entertained.  Mind you, it’s still a stretching to accept Cory Fieldman as an action character, but he held his own as the main focus.  To a point. This despite of his insistence to continue using that fake “I’m BATMAN!” gritty, growly voice.  And I believe the whole “rave” setting has been played out.  I did enjoy the call-outs to the original movie, giving at least a bit of a peak of what has happened up to this point.

Will Lost Boys: The Thirst win over fans of the first (and therefore, superior) original? No. No it will not. Is this second sequel better than the first sequel? Yes. Yes it is. Can you do worse than watching this when there’s nothing else to do some afternoon? Yes. Yes you can. Eh, it’s worth a look for curiosity’s sake, at least.

