The-Prophecy-Uprising1Dimension Films
2005
R

“Sorry I’m late. We had to stop for petrol and sweets.”

An unsuspecting young woman finds herself in possession of an ancient manuscript that’s been connected to a series of ritualistic murders. Now, she’s being tracked by angels seeking to retrieve the powerful book.

The first three movies in The Prophecy series are one of my favorite guilty pleasure horror trilogies I like to revisit from time to time. This is mostly due to Christopher Walken and the way he plays Gabriel in the most Christopher Walken-est of ways, stealing the scenes whenever he shows up. After those movies were made and in the can, in the early Aughts I caught news of there being two more Prophecy movies being made, these being woefully Walken-less. It was like making a second Short Circuit movie without Steve Guttenberg and Ally Sheedy, and thus I decided I wasn’t going to actively go out and watch these two movies when they were available. Sure, if I was hanging out somewhere and they decided to pop them in, I wouldn’t complain. Or, say, if a friend decides to gift me with a five-movie pack of all The Prophecy movies in one package from Wal-Mart, I’d at least watch the last two once. Which is exactly what happened back in 2012, when my long-time hetersexual life partner bought me one.

Here in the fourth installment of the now-mislabeled The Prophecy Trilogy, a theology student named Allison is in Romania studying, and comes across a mysterious book of prophecies called The Lexicon. This is a book that takes the phrase “it writes itself” a bit too literally, as it does just that: it’s a self-writing work in progress of prophecies, and it contains a 23rd chapter of the book of Revelation, which isn’t complete yet. Things get even more complicated when she discovers that two fallen angels–one named Belial and an obscure one you may not be familiar with by the name of Lucifer (“Lucy” to his friends)–are after the book, both with rather different intentions. Then, a not-so-fallen angel named Simon shows up to help Allison protect the book from being found. While looking for Allison, Belial murders people and takes their form, whilst Lucifer takes on the form of Interpol agent John Riegert and seeks the help of a cop who turns out to be the long-lost brother of Allison. Imagine that. Wackiness ensues.

Seeing as how this and the sequel after this were both filmed back-to-back and released months apart in 2005, The Prophecy: Uprising can be seen as part one of a whole. Or, as far as I’m concerned, the first in what really is a way to squeeze the last drop of blood out of an already spent series of movies. Did this really need to be part of The Prophecy line? Not really. Does this story add to the overall arc of the first three? Again, not really. Could it have been made, along with the second one, as its own story? Maybe. Since it is under The Prophecy title, I’m going to consider this one, as well as the fifth one that I’m going to get to here shortly, as more of a supplemental film than a continuation. Apocrypha, if you will.

That said, The Prophecy: Uprising wasn’t as bad as I was fearing. It’s rather decent; yes, it does tend to take itself a bit too seriously, and it is a movie that could have very much benifited with some Walken magic. But, for the most part, it didn’t suck. And John Light as Satan/John Riegert was downright delightful, the standout in the entire movie to be sure. Overall, though, I didn’t mind watching it; I just don’t see myself watching it again along with the first three The Prophecy movies. Worth a look-see, at least.

