2-8 - Music Review: DISCIPLE - Attack

DISCIPLE
Attack
Independent
2014

Disciple’s tenth full-length release finds them back to releasing independently, instead of on the Sony-distributed INO Records, or Fair Trade Services (as INO then became known as). This particular release was completely funded by a Kickstarter campaign, which means that people paid actual money out of their own pockets for Disciple to make an album. I wasn’t one of the ones to donate money to the Kickstarter; I wasn’t even aware back then that they were doing that. But, I did pay money for the download on Amazon, so here’s my assessment of the album that fans funded.

From the opening tack “Radical”, it’s very much evident that we’re back to the radio-friendly nu metal/rock that’s heavy yet feels trip melodic, like what they did with Disciple, Scars Remain and Horseshoes & Handgrenades. Fortunately, when “Attack” ques up, it sounds like they’ve somehow gotten back some of their edgy passion, while retaining some of the modern sound they’ve been going with. Maybe, just maybe, going the independent, non-label route may have injected something possessive, because I find myself actually enjoying this song. As a matter of fact, I’ve found myself enjoying more of the songs here than not: “Dead Militia” with its heavy, marching style and pace, “The Name” which again hearkens back to older times, just nice and stinking HEAVY, “Angels And Demons” and “Kamikaze” equally as heavy and melodic, while “Crazy” is nice and heavy, but made me nervous with the EBM opening that kind of reminded me of the Batman Beyond soundtrack. There are a couple that weren’t bad, but didn’t quite equal the heavy goodness of the previously mentioned tracks, like “Scarlet” and “Lion”, while there are three Feels Trip Fodder Alerts to be aware of: “Unbroken” (again with the EBM opening), “Yesterday Is Over” (BALLAD ALERT!) and album closer “The Right Time” (BALLAD ALERT!). I don’t know why they always have to end things on a ballad. I’m of the opinion that you should rock the listener’s face off with the final song, to leave them wanting more. But, whatever.

Overall, Attack was a pretty decent listen. It had a variety that kept things from getting too homogenized; yet, in the end, not much of the album really stuck with me after I shut it off. I had to go and re-listen to a couple of songs to get a good description while writing this, and that’s usually not a good sign for multiple plays. Mind you, I’m probably not the demographic they’re making the music for. The production is great, though, and there is much to like about the album.

