One of the more amusing aspects of any Presidential campaign season is watching all of the more notable celebrities make melodramatic threats befitting more for toddlers. Mostly, they threaten to just leave the country if so-and-so gets elected; we all know how well those promises are kept. However, I came across one particular…I’m not even sure if the word “threat” is applicable here, as it doesn’t really fit the pattern.

In a recent interview on the Classic Rock Magazine blog, Sisters Of Mercy frontman Andrew Eldritch, while discussing the recent political climates in both his native UK and here in America, he quipped:

“If Donald Trump actually does become President, that will be reason enough for me to release another album. I don’t think I could keep quiet if that happened.”

So, as you can see, this is not actually your standard passive aggressive ultimatum that comes about during the great clown parade that is the American Presidential elections. As a matter of fact, I would say that this might actually work against any plans to not get Trump elected. Which may actually be a brilliant form of messing with us: “I want a new SoM album, but…I have to vote for Trump to ensure that…”

Wait, I’m beginning to see now. This is one of those Princess & The Tiger situations. [slow clap] Well played, Mister Eldritch. Well played.

::END TRANSMISSION::

