Movie Review: IRON MAN 2Paramount Pictures / Marvel Entertainment
2010
PG-13

“Because I’m your nuclear deterrent. It’s working. We’re safe. America is secure. You want my property? You can’t have it. But I did you a big favor. I’ve successfully privatized world peace. What more do you want?”

Refusing to hand over his technology to the government pits rich inventor Tony Stark – aka Iron Man – against his friend Lt. Col. Rhodes. But when an arms maker partners with a rogue Russian physicist, Iron Man teams with Rhodes to take them down.

The second entry in the Iron Man section of the overall Marvel Cinematic Universe is, to say the very least, polarizing. While many thought that the story of Iron Man 2 was a bit close in style to the first one (and in many ways, it is), I have to say that my personal enjoyment of this second Iron Man flick was pretty high. Possibly as high as the first one, I dare say.

This may be due to my utter ignorance of the overall Iron Man comics to begin with. Really, I’m the living embodiment of being able to thoroughly enjoy something without having to know anything about the source material. I’ve said this before about many a comic book-based movie, and I’ll probably say it many more times before Death herself prevents me from writing my fetid brain droppings. Even if I did, I’d probably not let that kind of fanboy nit-pickery get in the way of enjoying a good movie. And Iron Man 2 is a good movie.

One of those factors is that, this being the second movie in the character’s series, there’s no need to build the introductions. We already know who the main characters are; no need to go back explaining the back-story (unlike a certain DC comics character, whose tragic origin has to be rehashed in almost every single movie he’s in, but I digress). There’s a couple of requisite baddies in this one: Ivan Vanko, played by Mickey Rourke, who may be just another guy in a mecha-suit, but he’s an amusing Russian guy in a mecha-suit who’s smarter than he lets on, which I found amusing. Then there’s Justin Hammer, played by Sam Rockwell, who chewed scenery and really played up the wormy slimeball competitor of Tony Stark’s rather gleefully.

Really, I found Iron Man 2 very enjoyable, the development of not only Tony Stark’s character but of all of the other supporting cast really good, and the action scenes to be extremely satisfactory. It’s a Marvel comic book movie, for crying out loud, what were you expecting? King Lear? To be fair, though, I did kind of not like the slight bleed-over of characters from the other parts of the MCU–namely, Nick Fury and Black Widow–but, really, when building the entire world, it was inevitable.

Overall, yeah…Iron Man 2 is just as awesome and good as the first one. No real complaints here.

