Music Review: MIND OF THE SICK - Anti-Devil Superstar

MIND OF THE SICK
Anti-Devil Superstar
Independent
2012

Once in a while, in my ongoing quest to listen to and review all things METAL and good, I come across something that I on the onset I really, really want to like. I look at it and think, “yeah, this seems right up my ally.” But then, after giving it a listen, I discover, much to my chagrin, that quite the opposite has occurred. Even if I give it the rare second listen, just to make sure that I wasn’t just in a mood or something, it turns out that what I thought I was going to absolutely enjoy is suddenly on my pile of “why did I buy this?” files. Mind Of The Sick happens to fall squarely in this pile.

Mind Of The Sick is a one-man project that bills itself as a “zombiecore” project, in the vein of Rob Zombie. And with an enforcement like that, of course I’m going to bite onto this. I mean, there just isn’t enough shock rock/horror metal bands out there with strong Christian leanings out there. As a matter of fact, we’re kind of a dying breed, which saddens your Uncle NecRo. And since this was one of the albums being offered up for free legal download, I did so. And…well…

Okay, first the positive things I was able to glean from here. There are some good ideas put forth with the songs, that much is evident. There are some decent, crunchy guitar riffs and electronic programming going on. As far as style, I would say that the songs on Anti-Devil Superstar sound closer to Tonight The Stars Revolt-era Powerman 5000 than Rob Zombie, with maybe one instance where they sounded like Korn’s “Freak On A Leash”. Vocal-wise, yeah the guy does try for a grittier Rob Zombie like grunt thing, but while Zombie is good at it, here the guy just sounds constipated. Almost as if he’s channeling the late Macho Man Randy Savage. Add in the fact that, for whatever reason, the vocals are mixed in louder than the music, which is a tremendous distraction. Interspersed are soundbites from what sounds like Dr. J. Vernon McGee, the “Through The Bible” guy featured on many a Christian talk radio’s programming.

Overall, Anti-Devil Superstar has a higher-end demo quality that is decent, but the vocals need work, both the style and how to place them in harmony with the music production. Lyrically speaking, the songs are what you would call Youth Group quality. Overall, a nifty effort–adorable, even–but I’m not impressed.

