book-review_-the-dead-zoneStephen King
Viking Press
1979

The crowd had the plump, righteous, slightly constipated look that seems the exclusive province of businessmen who belong to the GOP.

Johnny, the small boy who skated at breakneck speed into an accident that for one horrifying moment plunged him into The Dead Zone. Johnny Smith, the small-town schoolteacher who spun the wheel of fortune and won a four-and-a-half-year trip into The Dead Zone. John Smith, who awakened from an interminable coma with an accursed power—the power to see the future and the terrible fate awaiting mankind in The Dead Zone.

Back when I was 16 and a sophomore in High School, I was in full-on Stephen King junkie mode. I was in the process of trying to read all the Stephen King books I could lay my hands upon, and The Dead Zone being part of the King bibiliography, I of course was obligated to read the novel.

It was around this time of reading the book, where I made the discovery that not every King book is going to knock it out of the park for me. It took me a bit longer than usual to work my way through The Dead Zone, as it didn’t really capture my full attention to keep me going with the story. Keep in mind, again, I was 16 at the time, and hadn’t developed the focus to the laser-honed something-something as it is now. Squirrel.

Revisiting The Dead Zone, I find the overall story of a man who awakes from a coma to find he’s developed some precognitive skills that nearly drives him insane and then decides to take out a Presidential candidate because he foresaw a bad future to be a bit more interesting than I did back when I was barely old enough to drive. But, not much more than that. Mind you, The Dead Zone isn’t a bad novel by any means. Far from it. I just don’t find it to be one of the ones that I would enjoy revisiting again. Matter of fact, I haven’t seen the Christopher Walken-staring movie version; but, I have seen the first season of the television show. Weird.

