suicide-squadWarner Bros.
2016
PG-13

“Huh? What was that? I should kill everyone and escape? Sorry. The voices. Ahaha, I’m kidding! Jeez! That’s not what they really said.”

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U. S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker launches an evil agenda of his own.

I have to say that, finding a way to start off this review is proving to be a challenging one. By now, everyone has known about this movie and its hiccups getting onto the big screen. The extra shoots ordered in the aftermath of the Batman V. Superman backlash. The predictions of failure long before it was even released, the criminally low rating on Rotten Tomatoes that created an outcry. Jared Leto’s shenanigans. All I knew was, this being a movie based on a comic book title that I really didn’t know much about, outside of the general concept of the DC Universe’s bad guys brought together by way of the government agency for covert missions, this was kind of an odd choice to add to the budding DC Cinematic Universe. Because, while the comics have their fan base, and from what I understand they’re rather good, Suicide Squad is not exactly the first thing that springs to mind when one mentions DC Comics. It may not even be the fifth thing. Or the tenth. Then again, no one was expecting Guardians Of The Galaxy to be any good, so what do I know?

And of course, it was mandatory watching with the Exalted Geeks the weekend it came out. We even recorded a podcast about it, right here. But as for my own gathered together and jotted down thoughts on the movie…

Of the three DC movies that have been released in this series, I would have to say I like Suicide Squad the best. I think it’s easy to understand why; by default, because of its wackier tone, this one was much more fun than Man Of Steel or Batman v. Superman. It’s still dark and gritty, but at least it wasn’t a two hour angst-y wank-fest to sit through.

That’s not to say that the movie was without its flaws. That’s a given. However, the character dynamic seemed to work much better, combined with the action and the story itself, the time didn’t seem to drag and I found myself enjoying how this was playing out. The actors associated with the characters were decent enough; Will Smith once again played Will Smith as Deadshot, essentially the DC analog of Marvel’s Bullseye, only cooler. I don’t know about everyone else (I try to stay away from the nerd whining on the internet as much as possible), but I actually enjoyed Margot Robbie’s turn as Harley Quinn; I found her character rather amusing yet chilling, as fitting for the love interest for the arguably greatest villain in the DC Universe. And Viola Davis was dead-on perfect as the equally chilling Amanda Waller. Gads, you do not want to cross her. Ever. As for the other characters…well, they were adorable, but were just kinda there.

As far as the story goes…it’s your standard covert ops action movie that features a science fiction bent and pretty impressive effects. It’s better than average, in that it entertained me enough to make me not notice it’s over two-hour run time. I do think, however, that the whole Joker subplot wasn’t really needed; for that matter, barring further portrayals in future DCU movies building on his character arc, I don’t think I’m going to think more than just a “meh” as to Jared Leto’s take on the Clown Prince of Crime.

Overall, while I think that DC/Warner Bros. has a long way to go to get their stable of heroes up to the quality of films that Marvel has been knocking out of the park, the end result of The Suicide Squad is definitely a step in the right direction. Worth a rental, at the very least.

