movie-review_-thorDisney
2011
PG-1312

“How’d you get inside that cloud?”
“Also, how could you eat an entire box of Pop-Tarts and still be this hungry?”

The world has many heroes…but only one is a god. When the arrogant warrior Thor is banished to Earth from his homeworld of Asgard, he must fight to reclaim his lost powers. Pursued by an invasion force sent to destroy him, the fallen God of Thunder must rise to the battle and learn what it takes to become a true hero.

Thor was one of the Marvel Universe movies that I opted not to catch when it was playing at the theaters intentionally. This was mainly due to lack of interest in the actual comic book title it was based on. I was more of a spandex and capes kinda fanboy, and not really into the whole Norse mythology that was mixed into the genre that Thor represented. So, when the 4th movie in the Marvel Universe series was released, I passed on paying to see it in the theaters, and decided that, if I was to one day watch it, I would wait until the DVD is available, or it was streaming on some movie streaming site, or whatnot. If I decided to watch it. It was a pretty big “if”, there.

As it usually turns out in situations like this, I did eventually get bored enough to check out Thor on a streaming basis, and watched it one weekend afternoon while digesting whatever it was I ingested for lunch that day. And I have to admit, I actually enjoyed the movie far more than I thought I would.

The Thor live action movie is a good example of being executed in a way that made me enjoy it despite not really being into the source material. The story is good and engaging, the characters are introduced and fleshed out well, the dialogue was top-notch, and Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Tom Hiddleston as Loki both manage to pull off their respective characters without coming off as a hokey Renaissance Fair player. Thor is essentially a fish out of water movie, only with Asguardian mythos.

Do I regret not having watched Thor on the big screen? Eh, maybe a few special effects scenes, like the Rainbow Bridge, or that fight between Thor and the Destroyer in the Nevada town. Otherwise, though, I did enjoy Thor, as I mentioned, much more than I thought I would.

