movie-review_-thor-dark-worldMarvel / Disney
2013
PG-13

“If you even THINK about betraying him…”
“You’ll kill me? Evidently there will be a line.”

Faced with an enemy that even Odin and Asgard cannot withstand, Thor must embark on his most perilous and personal journey yet, one that will reunite him with Jane Foster and force him to sacrifice everything to save us all.

As mentioned in the previous Thor movie review, I waited a bit after it was released onto DVD to get around to watching the movie due to the usual reasons I didn’t go see it in the theater, then after watching it found that I enjoyed it far mor than I thought I would. So, with that thought in mind, you would be forgiven if you thought that I then went out and watched the sequel, Thor: The Dark World opening weekend. You would be wrong, actually. I also waited until this was at least available for streaming on NetFlix or on DVD before I got around to watching The Dark World as well.

This time, though, it was for a far different reason than mere ambivalence, a reason I’m not going to go into detail here. Needless to say, I did have it on the list of movies to get around to watching; I just was only able to do so after it was out of the theaters and on that round, flat disc of plastic that only plays in that movie watchin’ device that replaced my old Beta Max the week prior. In related rants, I just got around to replacing my tried and true waxed cylinder player with one of those new-fangled reel-to-reel contraptions you young people insist on using all the time.

Anyway, Thor: The Dark World is, befitting of its subtitle, is a rather dark entry into the Thor movie series, and in the Marvel Cinematic Universe all together. It begins with a flashback to a battle between the father of Odin and a Dark Elf that’s played by a nigh-unrecognizable Christopher Eccleston (between this and Guardians Of The Galaxy, I’m beginning to think that the Marvel Universe likes to take Doctor Who alumni and make them all but unrecognizable), which ends up with the Dark Elf leader and his minions going into suspended animation and Odin’s daddy hiding away the movie’s McGuffin. Fast forward a number of centuries, and the Nine Realms are beginning to converge again, which results in playing with physics like a drunken kitten. It also reawakens the Dark Elf, who tries to go after the McGuffin to plunge all of the realms into darkness (or something like that). Only, it seems the McGuffin has inadvertently bonded with the Odinson’s love interest. The Odinson being Thor, in case you’re not up on your Norse mythology, here. So, now it’s up to Thor and his band of friends and his brother Loki to try and take down this rather ambitious Ninth Docto…er, Dark Elf before all of reality is brought down to mood lighting.

Of course Thor: The Dark World was far more awesome than it should have been. If I remember correctly, this installment wasn’t supposed to have Loki in it, for whatever reason. I think we can all agree it was a good idea to end up having him part of the story. Chris Helmsworth and Tom Hiddleston play off each other so well, I couldn’t imagine not having him part of the movie.

Thor: The Dark World–aside from being one of a handful of other movies that were released that year having the word “Dark” in the title–is a dark movie, or at least darker than the first Thor movie. What really stands out here is the development of most of the characters, including both Thor and Loki. Especially Loki, as we see much more depth to him rather than that he’s evil and mischievous. He really loved his mother, it seems. Also, spoilers: Thor and Loki’s mom dies. I figure it’s been long enough. Of course, the effects and the action are top notch, along with the general story itself being rather epic in its fantasy-by-way-of-SCIENCE! style. It’s because of this movie, I feel it’s high time for a properly made He-Man and the Masters of the Universe movie. Let’s get on this, people. But, I digress.

Overall, Thor: The Dark World was a very good movie. It certainly entertained me more than it was supposed to, and is yet another example of Marvel Studios knocking so many out of the park, I hope the momentum doesn’t trip up too bad.

