ADVENTUS - Hell Will FallADVENTUS
Hell Will Fall
Independent
2011

There is hardly any information that I can glean for the band Adventus. Hardly. Anything. And I have some mad Google skills, here. They’re not even listed on the definitive Christian rock and metal database, the Firestream Vault. There’s a bit at the Encyclopaedia Metallum, stating they’re from Russia, and…that’s about it, besides the discography bits. And those album titles are in Russian, not English. Which leads me to think, this may not be the same band. Because, somehow I managed at one point to ascertain that the EP we’re reviewing was released in 2011. Also, the logo on the album art doesn’t match the band on Metal-Archives. I can’t even remember how I came into possession of this thing, really. This is kind of a maddening mystery, the more I try and think about it.

So, regardless of my inability to glean any kind of interesting talking points about the background of either the band or this release, I still have the music to talk about. And if you can find this somehow, floating around out there, try and nab it, because this is a four track collection of some of the better THRASH that I have had the pleasure of listening to. The opening track, “Forgive Me” starts things off with some heavy stinking thrash metal with a great riff to get us primed and going. The next track, “Sepultura”, has a tasty dark opening riff, then settles into a great thrash hook, with kind of a death metal break. “Sky Or Hell” has a piano opening things, then goes into a great metal hook, with a very good mosh break within. The closing track, “Hell Will Fall” has some great riffs and leads going for it, giving this EP a rather satisfying end.

Overall, despite where and how I came across this, Hell Will Fall was a pretty good bit of THRASH metal with a bit of Death Metal influences thrown in. The production is decent, with a rawness that works in the music’s favor. It just boggles my mind that I can’t seem to find any information on either the band or this release. Regardless, good find with some rather good thrash contained therein.

